Information Services Librarian
Listing of procedures included in ClinicalKey's Procedures Consult. To find the procedure in CK, simply search for the title and limit to Procedures on the left hand side of the results.
CutePDF (Free pdf software for Microsoft Windows.)
The New England Journal of Medicine (on campus access only)
The Cochrane Database (off campus access with library barcode authentication)
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
TRIP Database (free)
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
SUMsearch searches multiple sites for studies, systematic reviews, and guidelines.
ISI Web of Science
My NCBI allows you to save records and searches, and customize your results display with filters and other options from PubMed and other NLM databases.
Create a My NCBI account to save searches, collections of citations/results, set predefined limits, etc., and link directly to Summa Akron City/St. Thomas resources.
Use My NCBI in conjunction with the SummaSearch tinyurl for the biggest benefit!
Make sure you are logged in to My NCBI to get the most benefit from it. We suggest simply staying logged in on your own computer.
Enter your name and barcode, renew on the next page. If you don't know your library ID, please contact the library at 330-375-3260.
Request a literature search?
Physicians - contact Kathleen Walker
Nurses and other Allied Health - contact Charlotte Sievert
Request an article that Summa doesn't own?
Contact - Wendy Hess
For Clinical Key: Obtain registration ID from library. Allows you to create your own username and password for logging in from off campus. Off-site access is NOT available to students.
For R2 Digital Library: While on-campus, go to the R2 Digital Library website (click here) and create your own username and password for logging in from off campus. Off-site access is NOT available to students.
For Other Databases and Journals:
Please Note: Some databases and journals are simply not available from off-site.
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
(Free iPhone and Android app available)
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Household Products Database
What's under your kitchen sink, in your garage, in your bathroom, and on the shelves in your laundry room?
Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.