LibGuides: Trending Topics Featuring COVID-19: Trending Topics Homepage: COVID-19

The Library Staff - Contact Information and Hours

General Hours of Library Staffing: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM (no staffing on weekends of holidays)

Main Library Contacts:
Main Library Phone No: 330-375-3260 | Main Library Email: amedlib@summahealth.org | Library Fax: 330-375-3978

*Wendy Hess
Systems Librarian
330-375-6108
hessw@summahealth.org

*Charlotte Sievert
Information Services Librarian
330-375-6658
csievert@summahealth.org

*Kathleen Walker
Clinical Informationist
330-375-6970
walkerka@summahealth.org

COVID-19 Global Cases Dashboard by the Center for System Science Engineering John's Hopkins University

(graphic above reflects data from 6/30/21)

Click on click on caption above to get current data

CDC Strategies for Optimizing the Supply of PPE

Image Courtesy of CDC.National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD), Division of Viral Diseases

Click on caption above to get to the CDC's PPE recommendations

COVID-19 Projections Hospital Resource Use July 2021

COVID-19 projections of hospital resource use in July 2021 by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)...Image Credit (IHME) 2021.

Click on click on caption above to get current data

CDC's COVID-19 Resources

Click on caption above to link to resources

Current Literature / Clinical Updates

Hubs/Sites for Current Literature

Guidance / Updates on Specific Issues

NEWS! Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: FDA Authorizes First Oral Antiviral for Treatment of COVID-19
Clinical Considerations: Myocarditis and Pericarditis after Receipt of mRNA COVID-19 Vaccines Among Adolescents and Young Adults
CDC Recommendations regarding a pattern of cardiac inflammation, after vaccination for COVID-19. What do we know now? What should clinicians know?
NEJM Vaccine Resource Center
Antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 in All of Us Research Program Participants, January 2-March 18, 2020
A study on the initial spread of the virus in the US
more...less...
Abstract: With limited SARS-CoV-2 testing capacity in the US at the start of the epidemic (January – March), testing was focused on symptomatic patients with a travel history throughout February, obscuring the picture of SARS-CoV-2 seeding and community transmission. We sought to identify individuals with SARS-CoV-2 antibodies in the early weeks of the US epidemic.

Methods
All of Us study participants in all 50 US states provided blood specimens during study visits from January 2 to March 18, 2020. A participant was considered seropositive if they tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 immunoglobulin G (IgG) antibodies on the Abbott Architect SARS-CoV-2 IgG ELISA and the EUROIMMUN SARS-CoV-2 ELISA in a sequential testing algorithm. Sensitivity and specificity of the Abbott and EUROIMMUNE ELISAs and the net sensitivity and specificity of the sequential testing algorithm were estimated with 95% confidence intervals.

Results
The estimated sensitivity of Abbott and EUROIMMUN was 100% (107/107 [96.6%, 100%]) and 90.7% (97/107 [83.5%, 95.4%]), respectively. The estimated specificity of Abbott and EUROIMMUN was 99.5% (995/1,000 [98.8%, 99.8%]) and 99.7% (997/1,000 [99.1%, 99.9%), respectively. The net sensitivity and specificity of our sequential testing algorithm was 90.7% (97/107 [83.5%, 95.4%]) and 100.0% (1,000/1,000 [99.6%, 100%]), respectively. Of the 24,079 study participants with blood specimens from January 2 to March 18, 2020, 9 were seropositive, 7 of whom were seropositive prior to the first confirmed case in the states of Illinois, Massachusetts, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, and Mississippi.

Conclusions
Our findings indicate SARS-CoV-2 infections weeks prior to the first recognized cases in 5 US states.
Evaluating and Caring for Patients with Post-COVID Conditions: Interim Guidance
CDC Interim Guidance on Caring for COVID Long-Haulers

Dashboards / Interactive Tools

Developing Vaccines Quickly & Safely
An interactive tool that explores how a vaccine is developed, and the differences between a typical timeline and an accelated timeline.
more...less...
The tracking features are still being developed as reporting data from the states is not yet available from every state.
Johns Hopkins Vaccine Tracker Dashboard & Vaccine Primer
This dashboard also includes links to general information about the COVID-19 vaccines, the vaccine primer, and more

ClinicianTraining / Education Relating to COVID-19

COVID-19 Updates: Webinars from the CDC / COCA

Both upcoming live events & recordings of past presentations
During COCA Calls/Webinars, subject matter experts present key emergency preparedness and response topics, followed by meaningful Q&A with participants. Each COCA Call/Webinar will offer the most up to date information and guidance for clinicians.
Continuing Education is available for most calls/webinars.
Recordings and live streams are also available at the COCA Facebook Page. Search in Facebook for: "COCA CDC" to find it
Both upcoming live events & recordings of past presentations

List of Upcoming COCA Events & Recent Events (with links)
Facebook Site for Recordings of Some of the Above Presentations
Sign up for COCA email messages
COCA provides subscribers information on current health issues and emerging threats. Designed to be timely and concise, the COCA Now email message will inform clinicians of new CDC resources and guidance related to emergency preparedness and response. COCA Now emails will be sent as soon as possible after CDC publishes new content, ensuring clinicians are kept up to date.
more...less...
To receive only COCA email messages, go to Manage Your subscriptions and select - Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity

Training / CME from the American College of Emergency Physicians

ACEP recognizes that there is an urgent need to provide education around COVID-19. They have created a free CME Collection to help you manage COVID-19 patients. Create a free CME account or use your ACEP credentials to view the course.

ACEP COVID-19 CME Collection - free (lectures)
The bundle includes five lectures designed to help participants manage patients in the ED who present with symptoms related to COVID-19. It focuses on telemedicine; different types of ventilators, settings, and management of patients on ventilators; care of critical patients who require ICU care when the ICU is full; respiratory therapy and the pathophysiology and pharmacological management of acute decompensated heart failure.

Society of Critical Care Medicine Training

Access the Society of Critical Care Medicine's (SCCM) complimentary online training.

SCCM's COVID-19 Page
Critical Care for Non-ICU Clinicians
The number of patients is expected to surge in hospitals across the United States, which may result in the need for non-ICU clinicians to care for critically ill patients. SCCM and its members are committed to supporting all clinicians on the front lines of this pandemic. First register at the registration page. See link immediately below
Registration Page for Course: Critical Care for Non-ICU Clinicians
Recordings of Past Webcasts from the SCCM
Scroll down to see the list of recordings
Upcoming Webcasts from the SCCM
List of SCCM's COVID-19 Journal Articles

Training / CME available from JAMA

Each Summa employee or staff member may claim up to 10 free CME credits as part of the Medical Library's institutional license agreement with JAMA Network publications. Includes CME offered in JAMA and the other JAMA specialty journals to which we subscribe.

JN (JAMA Network) Learning
CME and MOC from the JAMA Network. Browse by topic from this page
JAMA Network JN Learning's COVID-19 Collection
JAMA Network's COVID-19 CME collection in browsable list. Also includes links to a few non-CME scientific information resources.
JAMA COVID-19 Resource Page
Use filters to find your sub-topic of interest.

Care for Yourself and Your Family During the Pandemic

CDC Advice on What You Can Do After You Are Fully Vaccinated
Daily Activities and Going Out (from CDC)
Advice based specific to different types of activities and locations.
more...less...
Categories covered include Events & Gatherings, Travel, Recreation & Leisure, Transportion, and more
How to Take Care of Yourself While Working from Home
Advice from the American Psychiatric Association
Running Essential Errands Grocery Shopping, Take-Out, Banking, and Getting Gas
What you need to know
Audio recording of Interview on Safe Shopping at Stores and Pharmacies during the COVID-19 Pandemic
Published Apr 3
Deciding to Go Out: Understand the Potential Risks
Should you go out? Guidance for unvaccinated people.
Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Home
Advice from the CDC on cleaning/disinfecting the home environment. These are everyday steps and also extra steps you can take to protect yourself when someone in your household is sick. Update Sep 8, 2020
Mental Health Help for Nurses
...from the ANA's Healthy Nurse/Healthy Nation Strength through Resiliency Committee. It's a blog and an online community for nurses as they strive to maintain and improve their own well-being.
Stress and Fear: Clinical Implications for Providers and Patients (in the Time of COVID-19 and Beyond)
Karnatovskaia LV, Johnson MM, Varga K, et al. Stress and Fear: Clinical Implications for Providers and Patients (in the Time of COVID-19 and Beyond). Mayo Clin Proc. 2020;95(11):2487-2498. doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2020.08.028
more...less...
In light of the coronavirus disease 2019 pandemic, we explore the role of stress, fear, and the impact of positive and negative emotions on health and disease. We then introduce strategies to help mitigate stress within the health care team, and provide a rationale for their efficacy. Additionally, we identify strategies to optimize patient care and explain their heightened importance in today’s environment.
Understanding and Addressing Sources of Anxiety Among Health Care Professionals During the COVID-19 Pandemic
Shanafelt T, Ripp J, Trockel M. Understanding and Addressing Sources of Anxiety Among Health Care Professionals During the COVID-19 Pandemic. JAMA. Published online April 07, 2020. doi:10.1001/jama.2020.5893