LibGuides: Summa Medical Library: Physicians

Databases, eBooks, Articles and More

AccessCardiology This link opens in a new window
AccessCardiology addresses the most current standards of care, research, and clinical trials through references from leading experts in the field of cardiology, including interventional cardiology and electrophysiology. Optimized for viewing on any mobile device, and guided by top academic experts in the field. It is one of the field’s most trusted cardiology resources. Serves the needs of residents and fellows, and features quick reference capabilities for practicing cardiologists, NPs, and PAs.
• Leading cardiology textbooks — Updates ahead of print. Content always current
• Heart Sounds Collection — To help you master cardiac auscultation skills
• Downloadable High-Quality Images — Speed diagnosis and treatment
• Hurst's Imaging Cases
• CME — Receive CME credit and prepare for in-services, certification, and recertification
AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window

Clinical Key
Over 1200 eBooks and 600 journals.
Cochrane
Systematic reviews of primary research in health care
DSM-V & Psychiatry Online
PubMed
Search for biomedical articles by topic
R2
Electronic books
TRIP Database
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, and even the arts,& humanities.

Want to find out if we have a certain journal?

Academic Search Premier
Browzine
Full Text Finder (formerly known as: the A to Z list)
This searchable database contains our electronic journals titles
Ovid Full Text Journal Collection (Medical & Nursing)

Featured Journals:

MedLinePlus
Consumer health website produced by National Library of Medicine. Information posted on the site is authoritative and up to date - utilizing sources from entities such as the National Institutes of Health and other trusted organizations. Provides extensive information on over 950 diseases and conditions. Also includes wellness information, a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, drug information, videos of surgical procedures and much more.

NIH Clinical Trials.gov

Online Learning

EBM Tutorial from UNC Health Science Library & Duke Medical Center
This Evidence-Based Medicine tutorial was created by staff at Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Curbside Consult - NEJM 360
NEJM Resident 360 is an online learning community with information resources and support for residents. Subscription is free through the Summa Medical Library.

Podcasts

AFP American Family Physician Podcast
AFP podcast features clinical highlights and interviews with family physicians.
The Curbsiders Podcast
An Internal Medicine Podcast featuring clinical experts on various topics in the world of medicine.

Historical Medical Collections, Images, and Multimedia

CDC Public Health Image Library
ClinicalKey Media
MedPix
National Library of Medicine Medical Image Database
NLM Historical Collections
National Library of Medicine Historical Collection of books, photos, prints, rare journals, and film.
OVID: Multimedia
SMART Imagebase

Know Your Copy Rights
A FAIR(Y) USE TALE
An informative parody made by Eric Faden, a professor at Bucknell University. NOTE: This film is blocked on Summa campuses

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Location, Contact Us: Library Hours & Access:

Located at:

Akron Campus, South Pavilion, Ground Floor, Suite G-3

General (Staffed) Hours:

8:00 - 4:30, M-F

Mailing Address:

55 Arch Street, Suite G-3,
Akron, OH 44304Badge

Badge Access: Your Summa badge is required to enter via the badge reader. Tap your badge to enter. If your badge doesn't work, ring the doorbell and a staff member will let you in. You must have your badge with you and be able to show it to the librarians, even if off-the-clock.

Main Phone, Email, Fax:

Phone: 330-375-3260
Email: amedlib@summahealth.org
Fax: 330-379-5034 (new fax #)
dsta

Who Can Use Summa Library: All Summa employees have access during staffed hours. The library is not open to the public.

After Hours: All physicians, residents, and fellows have after-hours access via badge proximity reader. Other types of staff may contact the library to request after-hours access