Suggested Readings - Health Equity Information Resources - a Summa Medical Library Guide

Suggested Readings by Topic

Disability Etiquette: tips on interacting with People with Disabilities
A free PDF guide with tips on respectfully interacting with people with disabilities.
Example of a Policy and Procedure for Providing Auxiliary Aids for Persons with Disabilities
HHS created an example of an organizational policy that outlines the procedure for providing aid to persons with disabilities.
National Association of the Deaf Minimum Standards for Video Remote Interpreting Services in Medical Settings
The National Association of The Deaf bases these minimum standards on the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Rehabilitation Act.
National Association of the Deaf Position Statement On Health Care Access For Deaf Patients
This statement provides guidelines for healthcare providers.
Sight Translation and Written Translation Guidelines
Focuses on the special demands of sight translation and written translation in the context of spoken language interpreting.

Diversity in Health Care: Examples from the Field
Provides a collection of case studies from the field which focus on six diversity initiatives implemented at hospitals across the country.
Research Article. The effect of a public transportation expansion on no-show appointments
Northeast Ohio Black Health Coalition: Take the Antiracism Survey

Better Communication Better Care: Provider Tools to Care for Diverse Populations
This toolkit provides stakeholders with resources to address the operational needs of practices because of changing service requirements and legal mandates.
Challenges and Successes in Reducing Health Disparities
This report provides a summary of the Roundtable on Health Disparities.
Equity of Care: A Toolkit for Eliminating Health Care Disparities
This PDF guide acts as a toolkit to help organizations address and eliminate health disparities.
Healthcare Quality Index: Patient Non-Discrimination
The Human Rights Campaign makes the case for a Patient Non-Discrimination policy that protects LGBTQ+ patients. It provides guidance for building a strong organizational policy.
The Growing Influence of State Governments on Population Health in the United States
This JAMA article discusses the increasing impact of a person's geographical location on their life expectancy. Geographic location is connected to social determinants of health.
Reducing Health Disparities in Underserved Populations: A Spotlight on Health Inequities
This editorial describes ways to address health disparities among marginalized populations.
Think Cultural Health: Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Nursing
Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Nursing is a self-directed training course designed for nurses.
Perceptions of Discrimination and Unfair Judgment While Seeking Health Care: Findings from September 2021 Coronavirus Tracking Survey
more...less...
Authors, Dulce Gonzalez, Laura Skopec, Marla McDaniel, and Genevieve M. Kenney, March 2021
Inequities in health insurance coverage and access to care are well established. The mechanisms behind these inequities are complex and include interpersonal experiences of unfair treatment while seeking care, institutional
barriers within health systems, and structural barriers in non–health care domains that
contribute to socioeconomic disadvantage. Research shows that people are often
discriminated against or treated unfairly in health care settings because of disabilities,
gender identity or sexual orientation, and race or ethnicity.

Better Communication Better Care: Provider Tools to Care for Diverse Populations
This toolkit provides stakeholders with resources to improve their communication with patients.
Building Health Literate Organizations: A Guidebook to Achieving Organizational Change
This guidebook will help health care organizations of any size engage in organizational change to become health literate.
Development of Items to Assess Patients’ Health Literacy Experiences at Hospitals for the Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS®) Hospital Survey
This article connects health literacy to the CAHPS survey. It suggests that the existing survey should measure effective communication between healthcare providers and patients.
Health Literacy and Communication Quality in Health Care Organizations
This article addresses the relationship between health literacy and quality of communication. Poor communication and low levels of health literacy contribute to poor health.
Health Literacy in Healthy People 2030
The Healthy People 2030 initiative seeks to eliminate health disparities and reach health equity. One strategy to achieve this goal is to improve health literacy.
An Introduction to Health Literacy
This NNLM webpage provides an overview of health literacy.
Ten Attributes of Health Literate Health Care Organizations
This paper describes 10 attributes that exemplify a health-literate health care organization.
Toolkit for Making Written Material Clear and Effective
CMS created a toolkit to help stakeholders make printed materials easier for people to read, understand, and use.

Addressing the Needs of LGBT People in Community Health Centers What the Governing Board Needs to Know
This brochure offers governing board members an introduction to LGBT people and their health needs and what health centers can do to support them.
Advancing Effective Communication, Cultural Competence, and Patient- and Family-Centered Care for the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Community A Field Guide
The LGBT Field Guide serves as an organizational self-assessment tool and educational resources for hospitals and health care organizations to address the needs of LGBT patients and families.
Affirmative Services for Transgender and Gender Diverse People – Best Practices for Frontline Health Care Staff
The National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center provides a list of best practices for healthcare providers who work with transgender and gender diverse patients.
Healthcare Quality Index: Patient Non-Discrimination
The Human Rights Campaign makes the case for a Patient Non-Discrimination policy that protects LGBTQ+ patients. It provides guidance for building a strong organizational policy.
Inclusive Services for LGBT Older Adults A Practical Guide To Creating Welcoming Agencies
Developed to help clinicians an d service providers understand the unique challenges that older LGBT adults face when accessing health care services
A Practitioner's Resource Guide: Helping Families to Support Their LGBT Children
This guide was developed to help practitioners understand the critical role of family and caregiver acceptance or rejection in the health and well-being of adolescents who identify as LGBTQ+.
Providing Inclusive Services and Care for LGBT People: A Guide for Health Care Staff
Provides background information on LGBTQ+ patients and their health needs, plus tips and strategies to improve communication and create a welcoming environment.
Ten Strategies for Creating Inclusive Health Care Environments for LGBTQIA+ People (2021)
Helps answer the question: "How can our mainstream aging organization provide inclusive and welcoming services to older lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender adults?"
Top Health Issues for LGBT Populations Information & Resource Kit
Provides an overview of current health issues among LGBT populations. The kit includes a list of terms and definitions specific to gender identity and gender expression, and to sexual identity and sexual orientation.

Better Communication Better Care: Provider Tools to Care for Diverse Populations
This toolkit provides stakeholders with resources to improve their communication with patients.
CDC Culture and Language Cross-Culture Communication
CDC guidance on ensuring proper communication across cultures and languages.
Commonly Used Spanish Patient Forms: Consent, Refusal, Instruction and Treatment
A range of sample patient forms written in the Spanish language.
Eliminating Language & Cultural Barriers to Care
This page describes strategies to eliminate language and cultural barriers to care. Strategies include medical interpretation training and cultural responsiveness training.
Improving Patient Safety Systems for Patients With Limited English Proficiency
The goal of the guide is to help hospital leaders better understand how to address the issue of patient safety for LEP and culturally diverse patients
The Kaiser Permanente Clinician Cultural and Linguistic Assessment Initiative: Research and Development in Patient–Provider Language Concordance
Kaiser Permanente developed the Clinician Cultural and Linguistic Assessment Initiative to ensure verifiable linguistic proficiency in clinical encounters and has established a standard level whereby the clinician is deemed to have a qualifying level of proficiency in communicating directly with patients independent of an interpreter.
Medical Interpreters Improvements to Address Access, Equity, and Quality of Care for Limited-English-Proficient Patients
The authors propose that the standardization of medical interpreter training and certification would substantially reduce the barriers to equitable care experienced by LEP patients in the U.S. healthcare system, including the occurrence of preventable clinical errors.
Overcoming language barriers in healthcare: A protocol for investigating safe and effective communication when patients or clinicians use a second language
This protocol outlines a hospital-based study examining interactions between healthcare practitioners and their patients who either share or do not share a first language. Of particular interest are the nature and efficacy of communication in language-discordant conversations, and the degree to which risk is communicated.
Tips for Working with a Language Interpreter
“Does This Doctor Speak My Language?” Improving the Characterization of Physician Non-English Language Skills

AP News: Black doctors say they face discrimination based on race
AP News: US pediatricians’ group moves to abandon race-based guidance
Guide to Preventing Readmissions among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Medicare Beneficiaries
Developed to provide practical examples of initiatives and strategies to reduce readmissions in diverse populations
Health Affairs, special issue on Racism and Health
Journal: American Journal of Psychiatry: Anti-Racism Articles and Resources

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Location, Contact Us: Library Hours & Access:

Located at:

Akron Campus, South Pavilion, Ground Floor, Suite G-3

General (Staffed) Hours:

8:00 - 4:30, M-F

Mailing Address:

55 Arch Street, Suite G-3,
Akron, OH 44304Badge

Badge Access: Your Summa badge is required to enter via the badge reader. Tap your badge to enter. If your badge doesn't work, ring the doorbell and a staff member will let you in. You must have your badge with you and be able to show it to the librarians, even if off-the-clock.

Main Phone, Email, Fax:

Phone: 330-375-3260
Email: amedlib@summahealth.org
Fax: 330-379-5034 (new fax #)
dsta

Who Can Use Summa Library: All Summa employees have access during staffed hours. The library is not open to the public.

After Hours: All physicians, residents, and fellows have after-hours access via badge proximity reader. Other types of staff may contact the library to request after-hours access