Need help? Click here.
This page contains links to our print and digital collections with a focus on health equity and related topics. eJournals and eBooks can be accessed online. Print books can be reserved or requested by clicking the book's title: this will take you to the NEOMED catalog to make the request. Please reach out to the library if you have any difficulties accessing our content.
Aging Across Cultures: Growing Old in the Non-Western World by 
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care: Working with Diverse and Vulnerable Populations by 
Essentials of Health, Culture, and Diversity: Understanding People, Reducing Disparities by 
LGBTQ Cultures: What Health Care Professionals Need to Know About Sexual and Gender Diversity by 
Advancing Health Equity: A Guide to Language, Narrative and Concepts by 
Cancer Health Disparities: From Determinants of Disparities to Solutions for Equity by 
Health Equity in Hospital Medicine: Foundations, Populations, and Action by The roles of trust and health literacy in achieving health equity : clinical settings: proceedings of a workshop-in brief by 
The Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities by 
Equity in Health and Health Promotion in Urban Areas by 
Health Promotion in Health Care – Vital Theories and Research by 
Population Health: Creating a Culture of Wellness by 
Population Health Science in the United States: Trends, Evidence, and Implications for Policy: Proceedings of a Joint Symposium by 
Social Determinants of Health: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Social Inequality and Wellbeing by The Social Determinants of Health and Health Disparities by 
Artificial Intelligence and Healthcare: The Impact of Algorithmic Bias on Health Disparities by 
Teaching empathy in healthcare : building a new core competency by Websites
Examining home visits from community health workers to help patients manage asthma symptoms by 
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The first case-based comprehensive textbook to address the unique health care needs of transgender and gender diverse adults A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Demand for state-of-the-art health care services for transgender and gender diverse communities is rapidly increasing. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide offers a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide features essential information that includes the following topics and more: The history and epidemiology of transgender and gender diverse health care Primary, preventive, and specialty care considerations for transgender and gender diverse patients Hormonal, surgical and non-medical gender affirmation Trauma-informed and gender-affirming care Behavior health, eating disorders and body positivity Reproductive health, obstetrical care, and family building Treatment of HIV and sexually transmitted infections Community building, advocacy and partnership
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service! Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care, 9th Edition, is your students' key to ensuring safe, ethical, and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps students master transcultural theories, models, and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment. Incorporating the expertise of an expanded team of established pioneers in the transcultural nursing field, this updated 9th Edition provides a contemporary framework for culturally competent nursing care. Content has been extensively reviewed and revised to reflect the evolving healthcare delivery system; new research studies and theoretical advances; an emphasis on effective communication, teamwork, and collaboration; and the latest clinical guidance on how nurses and other healthcare providers can use culturally competent skills to improve the care of clients, families, groups, and communities.
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Be prepared for the culturally rich and diverse world of healthcare! This concise, easy-to-read handbook prepares you to relate to individuals from different cultures. Use it in class and clinical now and as a reference throughout your career. The Purnell Model is your guide as you explore 34 different cultures and the issues that you need to be sensitive to...including cultural variations regarding personal space, dietary preferences, communication, symptom management, activities of daily living, and religious and health practices.
Cultural and Religious Sensitivity by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Health care professionals are likely to count among their patients people from all over the globe. This third, expanded edition of Cultural and Religious Sensitivity: A Pocket Guide for Health Care Professionals continues to offer health care professionals the information they need to successfully communicate with their patients, while also providing culturally and spiritually sensitive care, meeting their patients' needs and expectations related to health care. It covers a wide range of topics on culturally sensitive care, including pregnancy and birth, pediatric care, end of life, pain, and family and gender, as well religious beliefs and practices surrounding diet, medications, spiritual practices, organ donation, and more. This go-to-guide fits neatly into a lab coat pocket and features tabs to take you to the information you need when you need it-at the patient's bedside, before a patient and family consultation, or whenever you are interacting with patients. This is the guide you'll turn to again and again to improve your patient-centered care.
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The eighth edition of this well-respected book continues to promote an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds. Completely revised and updated, CULTURAL DIVERSITY IN HEALTH AND ILLNESS examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system and consumers, and examples of traditional health/ HEALTH beliefs and practices among selected populations. An emphasis on the influences of recent social, political, and demographic changes helps to explore the issues and perceptions of health and illness today, while new introductory and capstone chapters help place material within perspective. An essential for any health-care professional, this book sets the standard for cultural perspectives and more importantly HEALTH-the balance of the person, both within one's being-physical, mental, and spiritual-and in the outside world-natural, communal, and metaphysical. (Terms, such as HEALTH, are written this way to emphasize holistic meaning.)
Re-Visioning Family Therapy by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
A leading text for courses that go beyond the basics of family systems theory, intervention techniques, and diversity, this influential work has now been significantly revised with 65% new material. The volume explores how family relationships--and therapy itself--are profoundly shaped by race, social class, gender, religion, sexual orientation, and other intersecting dimensions of marginalization and privilege. Chapters from leading experts guide the practitioner to challenge assumptions about family health and pathology, understand the psychosocial impact of oppression, and tap into clients' cultural resources for healing. Practical clinical strategies are interwoven with theoretical insights, case examples, training ideas, and therapists' reflections on their own cultural and family legacies. New to This Edition *Existing chapters have been thoroughly updated and 21 chapters added, expanding the perspectives in the book. *Reflects over a decade of theoretical and clinical advances and the growing diversity of the United States. *New sections on re-visioning clinical research, trauma and psychological homelessness, and larger systems.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics, eighth edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice.Drawing from contemporary research, and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios, they demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts.NEW TO THIS EDITIONEvery chapter is revised to sharpen arguments, address recent issues raised by critics, and discuss and assess new published materialIncludes an expanded presentation in Chapter 4, 'Respect for Autonomy' on informed consentExpanded discussions of nontreatment, uses of the best-interest standard, quality of life decisions involving newborns and children, and physician-assisted dying included in Chapter 5, 'nonmaleficence'Features additional coverage of theories of justice, problems of health insurance coverage, and the right to health care in Chapter 7, 'Justice'Expanded sections on Veracity and Confidentiality, including the addition of new cases, in Chapter 8, 'Professional-Patient Relationships'Chapter 9, 'Moral Theories' includes expanded sections on Virtue Theory and Rights TheoryExpanded critiques of the theories of justification in Chapter 10, 'Method and Moral Justification'.This title is available as an eBook. Visit VitalSource for more information or to purchase.
Ethics and Epidemiology by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Since its first publication in 1996, Ethics and Epidemiology has been an invaluable resource for practicing public health professionals and MPH students around the world. This third edition presents an international perspective of prominent epidemiologists, ethicists, and legal scholars to address important ethical developments in epidemiology and related public health fields from the last decade, including the rise of public health ethics and the complex inter-relations between professional ethics in epidemiology, public health ethics, and research ethics. Ethics and Epidemiology, Third Edition is organized topically and divided into four parts covering "Foundations," "Key Values and Principles," "Methods," and "Issues." New or updated chapters include ethical issues in public health practice, ethical issues in genetic epidemiology, and ethical issues in international health research and epidemiology.Now updated with timely global examples, Ethics and Epidemiology, Third Edition provides an in-depth account to the theoretical and practical moral problems confronting public health students and professionals and offers guidance for how justified moral conclusions can be reached.
Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Control by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Discover a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the prevention and management of nosocomial infection. Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Control, Fourth Edition, continues to build upon its well-earned acclaim as the most comprehensive reference on hospital epidemiology and infection control. Over 150 leading authorities have contributed their expertise to the text, examining every type of nosocomial infection as well as issues relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare workers. This new edition features new or significantly increased coverage of emerging infectious diseases, avian influenza ("bird flu"), governmental regulation of infection control and payment practices related to hospital-acquired infections, molecular epidemiology, the increasing prevalence of community-acquired MRSA in healthcare facilities, system-wide infection control provisions for healthcare systems, hospital infection control issues following natural disasters, and antimicrobial stewardship in reducing the development of antimicrobial-resistant organisms. New and updated features include... * New chapters address mechanisms of bio?lm formation in staphylococci, microbiologic sampling of the environment in healthcare facilities, antimicrobial stewardship, and elements of design in the built environment of the healthcare facility. * NEW companion website offers extensive additional references for most chapters, as well as additional content useful in highly specialized circumstances * Fully updated references cite established and emerging research into the prevention and management of hospital-acquired infection. * Enhanced clinical focus provides useful information and strategies readers can put into practice immediately.
Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! The fifth edition of Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention has a new streamlined focus, with new editors and contributors, a new two-color format, and a new title. Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. Covers the basics of hospital epidemiology and infection prevention, types of healthcare-associated infections, details of specific pathogens (bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral), special populations, prevention of infections related to specific procedures as well as the hospital environment, antibiotic stewardship, occupational health, and emergency preparedness, among other key topics. Focuses on the evidence, science, and operational insight critical to the detection, transmission, and prevention of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). Includes chapters centered on specific types of HAIs (CLABSI, CAUTI, SSI, for example) and specific healthcare settings and patient populations (such as burn units, neonatal ICUs, and transplant recipients). Includes two several entirely new chapters on antimicrobial stewardship. Reflects new, user-friendly features such as the placement of core basic skills like HAI surveillance, isolation practices, and outbreak investigation earlier in the book; bulleted key points at the beginning of each chapter; full reference lists in every chapter; more figures and illustrations; and updated charts and graphs throughout. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Medical Epidemiology: Population Health and Effective Health Care, Fifth Edition by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible A Doody's Core Title for 2024! For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers concrete guidelines and evidence-based best practices for addressing racial inequities and biases in clinical care. Perhaps there is no subject more challenging than the intricacies of race and racism in American culture. More and more, it has become clear that simply teaching facts about cultural differences between racial and ethnic groups is not adequate to achieve cultural competence in clinical care. One must also consider less "visible" constructs--including implicit bias, stereotypes, white privilege, intersectionality, and microaggressions--as potent drivers of behaviors and attitudes. In this edited volume, three leading experts in race, mental health, and contextual behavior science explore the urgent problem of racial inequities and biases, which often prevent people of color from seeking mental health services--leading to poor outcomes if and when they do receive treatment. In this much-needed resource, you'll find evidence-based recommendations for addressing problems at multiple levels, and best practices for compassionately and effectively helping clients across a range of cultural groups and settings. As more and more people gain access to services that have historically been unavailable to them, guidelines for cultural competence in clinical care are needed. Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers a comprehensive road map to help you address racial health disparities and improve treatment outcomes in your practice.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations. How do these laws affect you, your practice, and patient care? Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients is ideally suited for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions concerned with addressing health disparities and caring for the underserved and vulnerable patient. Comprehensive in scope and authored by many of the leading names in the field, the book takes complex concepts and issues and helps you understand them, resulting in a "roadmap" to guide real-world applications and compliance with the terms of the law. Each chapter integrates key concepts, core competencies, and common pitfalls and concludes with useful lists of web resources and stimulating discussion questions. Highlights of the Second Edition:
Re-Visioning Family Therapy by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
A leading text for courses that go beyond the basics of family systems theory, intervention techniques, and diversity, this influential work has now been significantly revised with 65% new material. The volume explores how family relationships--and therapy itself--are profoundly shaped by race, social class, gender, religion, sexual orientation, and other intersecting dimensions of marginalization and privilege. Chapters from leading experts guide the practitioner to challenge assumptions about family health and pathology, understand the psychosocial impact of oppression, and tap into clients' cultural resources for healing. Practical clinical strategies are interwoven with theoretical insights, case examples, training ideas, and therapists' reflections on their own cultural and family legacies. New to This Edition *Existing chapters have been thoroughly updated and 21 chapters added, expanding the perspectives in the book. *Reflects over a decade of theoretical and clinical advances and the growing diversity of the United States. *New sections on re-visioning clinical research, trauma and psychological homelessness, and larger systems.
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: a Systems Approach, Fifth Edition by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The COVID-19 pandemic exposed the flaws in patient care delivery in many healthcare organizations. Hospitals scrambled to deal with inadequate supplies of ventilators and personal protective equipment while simultaneously combating the inefficiencies inherent in their existing systems. Outpatient areas struggled to deliver care in an environment that was safe for both workers and patients. The pandemic was a reminder that a focus on comprehensive quality management is vital to the daily work of healthcare providers and those they treat. Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: A Systems Approach examines the real-world tools and techniques necessary for improving systems that affect patient care outcomes. Author Patrice L. Spath explains how to explore and modify interconnected systems to make lasting changes that benefit the entire organization. This updated edition features a new chapter on three organizational characteristics that advance success in quality management: continuous improvement, high reliability, and accountability. Throughout, the book emphasizes the role of leadership in all aspects of quality. Management concepts are supported by real-life examples from different settings to further readers' understanding. Other new content in this edition includes: strategies for creating an organizational culture that supports ongoing improvement; data measurement techniques for analyzing inpatient and outpatient performance; regulations affecting quality activities in hospitals and other healthcare facilities; and external forces, such as a pandemic, that require a greater focus on systems. Each chapter concludes with challenging exercises that give readers a chance to apply what they have learned. A practice lab at the end of the book offers 11 rigorous assignments for a deeper exploration of the concepts presented. Improving quality management processes is the first step toward providing better healthcare. Everyone--from senior leaders and department managers to supervisors and frontline workers--can benefit from these enhancements, leading to greater job performance and, ultimately, safer patient care.
Longest's Health Policymaking in the United States, Seventh Edition by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Future healthcare leaders: Do you have an obligation to serve the common good? If your answer to this ethical question is yes, then you need a working knowledge of health policy. An understanding of how policy decisions are made gives healthcare leaders a knowledge base from which they can turn what once appeared to be limitations or obstacles into opportunities to facilitate better access to care, improve the quality of care, and more effectively manage costs. Leaders who have a firm grasp on the policymaking process can advocate for their patients, their organizations, and their communities. This revamped version of the classic textbook originally authored by Beaufort B. Longest, Jr., links policy concepts to practical applications and real healthcare outcomes. It covers formulation, implementation, and modification of health policymaking at both the federal and state levels, while giving readers insight into real-life political results and details of on-the-ground policy decisions. Highlights include: a new chapter on federalism and the role of the states; Policy Snapshots at the beginning of each of the book's sections that offer brief, true stories of a significant policy event or an opportunity for students to envision their future selves as health advocates; a thoroughly revised and updated chapter on how the courts shape health policy; a rich array of new or updated examples drawn from actual policymaking events, in addition to new graphics and sidebars; updated appendixes reorganized to provide easy access to examples germane to the topic at hand; and an epilogue highlighting federal and state policy challenges posed by the coronavirus pandemic of 2020. Let author Michael R. Meacham guide you through health policy as a process. With a background in policy, law, healthcare leadership, and academia, he enables students to understand both the big picture and the small, but important, details.
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Healthcare - Revised Reprint by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Featuring analysis of healthcare issues and first-person stories, Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care helps you develop skills in influencing policy in today's changing health care environment. 145 expert contributors present a wide range of topics in policies and politics, providing a more complete background than can be found in any other policy textbook on the market. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. The revised reprint includes a new appendix with coverage of the new Affordable Care Act. With these insights and strategies, you'll be prepared to play a leadership role in the four spheres in which nurses are politically active: the workplace, government, professional organizations, and the community. Up-to-date coverage on the Affordable Care Act in an Appendix new to the revised reprint. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Expert authors make up a virtual Nursing Who's Who in healthcare policy, sharing information and personal perspectives gained in the crafting of healthcare policy. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. Winner of several American Journal of Nursing "Book of the Year" awards! A new Appendix on the Affordable Care Act, its implementation as of mid-2013, and the implications for nursing, is included in the revised reprint. 18 new chapters ensure that you have the most up-to-date information on policy and politics. The latest information and perspectives are provided by nursing leaders who influenced health care reform with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010.
Sultz and Young's Health Care USA by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Combining historical perspective with analysis of current trends, Sultz & Young's Health Care USA, Tenth Edition charts the evolution of modern American health care, providing a complete examination of its organization and delivery while offering critical insight into the issues that the U.S. health system faces today.Building on the legacy of its prior successful editions, new co-authors James Johnson, Kim Davey, and Richard Greenhill lend their deep expertise in health services planning, administration, quality assessment, and teaching to the Tenth Edition by providing an updated, wide-ranging, and timely view of today's health care delivery system.Key Features:- New! Health systems thinking perspective is used as the organizing framework throughout, addressing a core Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) competency. - New chapters address important aspects of the U.S. health system such as Public Policy and the Role of Government in Health Care (3); Health Services and System - Research (12); Preparedness and Emergency Management (13); and Rural Health (14).- New assignments, cases, and interviews engage learners and encourage better comprehension of concepts and issues.- New appendix provides an in-depth analysis of the Canadian health system to help learners compare and contrast the similarities and differences between the U.S. and Canadian health systems. - All chapters were revised and updated to reflect current developments and trends in the field such as the COVID-19 pandemic, diversity, equity, and inclusion, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and much more. - A final chapter explores innovation in technology, workforce trends, and other challenges and opportunities facing the U.S. health system.
Health Promotion: Translating Evidence to Practice by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Take an evidence-based approach to health promotion across the lifespan and clinical specialties. Written for NPs and advanced practitioners, this text provides coaching in how to read, evaluate, and apply the best evidence to health promotion plans for individuals and their families to help them prevent or manage chronic and acute diseases and disorders. Step-by-step, a who's who of educators, researchers, and practitioners explore the models and skills you need to help your patients, including those with multiple co-morbidities, while evaluating medical evidence that changes rapidly, or may be unclear. You'll also be prepared for the health promotion questions on certification exams.
Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Health Promotion in Nursing Practice presents a strong, up-to-date foundation for understanding and building the science and practice of health promotion. The book has three goals: to introduce the major individual and community models and theories that guide health promotion interventions; to offer evidence-based strategies for effective health promotion in practice settings; and to foster critical thinking about future opportunities for research and more effective interventions. This Sixth Edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and terminology. New coverage includes: the U.S. Government's Healthy People 2020 Goals; more ecological approaches encompassing families, communities, and nations; new health promotion technologies, and more.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
Medical Epidemiology: Population Health and Effective Health Care, Fifth Edition by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible A Doody's Core Title for 2024! For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.
Population Health: Creating a Culture of Wellness by 
Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Healthcare in the Community by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The "gold standard" text in community health nursing is now available in an updated, 7th edition! This respected text gives you a solid foundation in community and public health nursing concepts and interventions for individuals, families, and communities. Throughout, health promotion and disease prevention concepts are integrated into the multifaceted role of population-focused, community-oriented nursing practice. You''ll find timely coverage of topics such as nursing roles following terrorist attacks and during infectious disease outbreaks; parish nursing; nurse-managed centers; and important client populations such as clients with AIDS, pregnant teens, and the homeless. Student-friendly features provide an accessible and challenging learning experience, and new content throughout keeps you up to date with this fast-changing field. Comprehensive coverage addresses the multiple roles of public health nurses, the varied clients they care for, and the different settings where they practice. Full-color design, photos, and illustrations are visually appealing and useful for effective study and real-world representations. Varied client focus addresses nursing care for individuals, families, and communities, giving you the information you need to care for each type of client group. An entire unit is devoted to vulnerable populations, so you can better serve such high-risk clients as the homeless, clients with substance abuse problems, and victims of domestic violence. Important chapter concepts and terminology (Objectives, Key Terms, Chapter Outline, and Chapter Review) are highlighted for quick reference. Numerous appendixes offer additional resources and key information, such as screening and assessment tools and clinical practice guidelines. Discussion-generating features such as Did You Know?, What Do You Think?, The Cutting Edge, Nursing Tip, How-To..., Evidence-Based Practice, Practice Application questions and answers, and Levels of Prevention boxes. Separate chapters provide thorough coverage of significant community and public health initiatives: Healthy Cities program, nursing centers, and a community health promotion integrated model. Critical-thinking and problem-solving skills are encouraged with Practice Applications Clinical Decision-Making Activities. Evolve web site for students includes Community Assessment Applied (exercises focused on community assessment), case studies with questions and answers, NCLEX exam style review questions with answers and correct answer rationales, a glossary, answers to Practice Applications, WebLinks, and content updates. Evolve web site for instructors includes an Instructor''s Manual, Test Bank, Image Collection, PowerPoint Slides, and tips on using Hale: Real World Community Health Nursing, 2nd Edition CD-ROM with this book. An entire chapter on the Minnesota Public Health Interventions Wheel explains the interventions in detail, providing a mechanism for applying this new and innovative model to practice. Community Assessment Applied, a FREE online resource that accompanies the text, offers tools and opportunities to practice community assessment. Chapter on surveillance describes monitoring health events through collection, analysis, and interpretation of health data, a key aspect of the protection of the public''s health. Expanded content on forensic nursing in the chapter on violence, giving you detailed knowledge on this new and growing nursing specialty. Revised international health chapter focuses on worldwide health issues so you develop a global health perspective. Health education and group practices chapter encourages you to focus on community/population-level education and emphasizes family, group, and community education. Healthy People 2010 boxes contain objectives and data from the most recent version of this federal government health promotion initiative, relating them to the practice of community and public health nursing. Timely new information on disaster management addresses this complex issue in light of its implications for today''s public health nurses.
Community/Public Health Nursing Practice by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
A practical approach helps you learn and apply core concepts of community and public health nursing. This text emphasizes both community and family as client, so you'll gain a solid understanding of these important specialties. Numerous real-life examples demonstrate your roles and responsibilities as a community health nurse. Not only is this text your leading source for need-to-know information, it is the only community/public health book to devote a full chapter to screening and referral! A unique chapter on screening and referral details the process of early detection of disease, a significant responsibility of community/public health nursing. Coverage of the community as client includes each step of the nursing process as applied to the community. Family coverage emphasizes the importance of viewing the family as a singular client. A chapter on community assessment provides a complete assessment tool, with application to two different types of communities. Healthy People 2010 boxes, including the Midcourse Review, reinforce the primary prevention aspect of community/public health nursing. A unique discussion describes the difference between geopolitical and social communities. Student-friendly features include Focus Questions, Chapter Outlines, Key Ideas, Learning by Experience and Reflection, and Suggested Readings. Practical application features include Case Studies, Ethics in Practice, and The Nursing Process in Practice. The companion Evolve website includes critical thinking questions, scenarios, and exercises challenging you to apply concepts to clinical situations. The new ANA Standards for Public Health Nursing are addressed in detail, helping you prepare for population-focused practice. The Minnesota Wheel of public health nursing interventions, a widely accepted framework for practice, offers a model for improving population health. Expanded information about managed care, health care reforms, and universal health care initiatives addresses the current issues in health care delivery. New content about Medicare Part D addresses prescription drug coverage and how it affects health care financing for elderly people. Recent national disasters and lessons learned from them are highlighted in a Disaster Management chapter. New coverage of human exposure to environmental chemicals and the impact of global warming on health explain important risks to public health. Expanded coverage of health literacy helps you provide needed patient education. A Study Aids section in each chapter lists the resources available on the companion Evolve website.
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health, Fourth Edition provides a fundamental and engaging background for students learning to apply and appropriately interpret biostatistics applications in the field of public health. Many examples are drawn directly from the author's remarkable clinical experiences with the renowned Framingham Heart Study, making this text practical, interesting, and accessible for those with little mathematical background. The examples are real, relevant, and manageable in size so that students can easily focus on applications rather than become overwhelmed by computations.The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly updated, and now offers a new chapter on career opportunities in biostatistics and new case studies focused on COVID-19 within each chapter. This edition also includes free access to JMP® Student Subscription (a $29.95 value).New cases based on COVID-19 highlight the importance and practical applications of biostatistics for addressing the pandemic.New chapter on careers in biostatistics provides helpful guidance and insight to undergraduates choosing a career.Chapter opening "In the News Feature" raises key questions and highlights issues from the news/social media to engage students in thinking about the specific application about to be discussed in light of the important problems that impact people and health 2 workbooks within the main eBook include offer step-by-step instructions and many how-to screenshots Updated Excel Workbook provides hands-on experience with statistical computing using Microsoft ExcelNew accompanying JMP workbook provides exercises and examples of statistical computing using JMP New JMP® Student Subscription - included for free download with purchase of the book or eBookNew full-color designLearn more about Lisa Sullivan's new Fourth Edition, its accompanying workbooks, and her experience using JMP software with her own students in her recent webinar, Engaging Students in Biostatistics: Using Statistical Computing to Promote Learning."Dr. Sullivan has won numerous teaching awards for her skills and commitment to education in Biostatistics, including the Association of Schools of Public Health Award for Teaching Excellence. She possesses a unique combination of sophisticated Biostatistics expertise and a clear and engaging writing style-one that can draw students in and help them understand even the most difficult topic. I am delighted that Dr. Sullivan has included her book and workbook in our Essential Public Health series. There is no better book to recommend for the anxious student first confronting the field of Biostatistics." Richard Riegelman, MD, MPH, PhD Founding Dean, The George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health Editor, The Essential Public Health Series
Landesman's Public Health Management of Disasters by 
Leadership for Public Health: Theory and Practice by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, and answer guides to discussion questions Today's rapidly evolving public health arena urgently needs effective leaders. In fact, this need is so pressing that the major public health associations have come together to call for a new emphasis on leadership development in the public health workforce. Leadership for Public Health: Theory and Practice aims to answer this call. The book is based on the premise that skilled public health leaders consider people their most valuable resource and are prepared to lead those people through a wide variety of situations. Acknowledging that effective leadership cannot rely on a one-size-fits-all approach, the authors challenge readers to try out a number of leadership models and theories, determine which are the best fit for their public health practice, and apply the key principles in their day-to-day work. The book matches its detailed discussion of leadership theory with examples and cases specific to the field of public health. Written primarily for graduate-level public health students, it is also useful for public health leadership institutes and public health practitioners looking to develop their leadership skills. The book is structured in three parts: * The Basis for Effective Public Health Practice, which provides an overview of leadership and professionalism in today's public health landscape * Leadership Theories and Concepts, which explores the models of leadership most likely to aid aspiring leaders * The Effective Practice of Public Health Leadership, which further develops the theories and concepts as they apply to public health Leadership for Public Health: Theory and Practice presents a practical framework for leaders at any public health organization, regardless of size or type, and at any level in the organizational hierarchy. Ultimately, the book aims to develop the leadership necessary to galvanize organizations and communities in transformational change to improve the public's health.
Public Health Evaluation and the Social Determinants of Health by Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Healthcare in the Community by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The "gold standard" text in community health nursing is now available in an updated, 7th edition! This respected text gives you a solid foundation in community and public health nursing concepts and interventions for individuals, families, and communities. Throughout, health promotion and disease prevention concepts are integrated into the multifaceted role of population-focused, community-oriented nursing practice. You''ll find timely coverage of topics such as nursing roles following terrorist attacks and during infectious disease outbreaks; parish nursing; nurse-managed centers; and important client populations such as clients with AIDS, pregnant teens, and the homeless. Student-friendly features provide an accessible and challenging learning experience, and new content throughout keeps you up to date with this fast-changing field. Comprehensive coverage addresses the multiple roles of public health nurses, the varied clients they care for, and the different settings where they practice. Full-color design, photos, and illustrations are visually appealing and useful for effective study and real-world representations. Varied client focus addresses nursing care for individuals, families, and communities, giving you the information you need to care for each type of client group. An entire unit is devoted to vulnerable populations, so you can better serve such high-risk clients as the homeless, clients with substance abuse problems, and victims of domestic violence. Important chapter concepts and terminology (Objectives, Key Terms, Chapter Outline, and Chapter Review) are highlighted for quick reference. Numerous appendixes offer additional resources and key information, such as screening and assessment tools and clinical practice guidelines. Discussion-generating features such as Did You Know?, What Do You Think?, The Cutting Edge, Nursing Tip, How-To..., Evidence-Based Practice, Practice Application questions and answers, and Levels of Prevention boxes. Separate chapters provide thorough coverage of significant community and public health initiatives: Healthy Cities program, nursing centers, and a community health promotion integrated model. Critical-thinking and problem-solving skills are encouraged with Practice Applications Clinical Decision-Making Activities. Evolve web site for students includes Community Assessment Applied (exercises focused on community assessment), case studies with questions and answers, NCLEX exam style review questions with answers and correct answer rationales, a glossary, answers to Practice Applications, WebLinks, and content updates. Evolve web site for instructors includes an Instructor''s Manual, Test Bank, Image Collection, PowerPoint Slides, and tips on using Hale: Real World Community Health Nursing, 2nd Edition CD-ROM with this book. An entire chapter on the Minnesota Public Health Interventions Wheel explains the interventions in detail, providing a mechanism for applying this new and innovative model to practice. Community Assessment Applied, a FREE online resource that accompanies the text, offers tools and opportunities to practice community assessment. Chapter on surveillance describes monitoring health events through collection, analysis, and interpretation of health data, a key aspect of the protection of the public''s health. Expanded content on forensic nursing in the chapter on violence, giving you detailed knowledge on this new and growing nursing specialty. Revised international health chapter focuses on worldwide health issues so you develop a global health perspective. Health education and group practices chapter encourages you to focus on community/population-level education and emphasizes family, group, and community education. Healthy People 2010 boxes contain objectives and data from the most recent version of this federal government health promotion initiative, relating them to the practice of community and public health nursing. Timely new information on disaster management addresses this complex issue in light of its implications for today''s public health nurses.
Treating Violence by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
The inspiring story of a Black doctor who was deeply affected by the violence that plagued his Brooklyn childhood and later dedicated himself to addressing trauma and violence as public health issues Rob Gore first encountered violence when he was beaten and robbed as a 10-year old; it was treated as an inevitable fact of life, but after another brush with violence as a teen, he began to reject that prevalent attitude. As he matured and became a doctor, he grew in his determination to find treatments for what he saw not as an unavoidable fact for most people living in vulnerable, underserved neighborhoods especially, but as a public health issue that could be addressed by early intervention and solid support, beginning in the medical community. He also became deeply involved in efforts to diversify the entire field of medicine, starting with the "front lines" in the Emergency Department. Seeing his brother, Angel, and close friend, Willis, fall prey to the epidemic of violence with profound-and in Willis's case-deadly consequences, Rob began seriously researching the issue and went on to found an organization which is one of the models for successful approaches to reducing violence and protecting victims, who are disproportionately BIPOC, living in impoverished neighborhoods, or members of the LGBTQ+ community. Here he provides not only statistics, but stories of what he witnessed in NYC neighborhoods, in Atlanta, Chicago, Buffalo, and even in medical work in Haiti and Kenya. His work with the Kings Against Violence Initiate (KAVI) and allied organizations is a blueprint for treating violence not as a police matter, but as a public health crisis, which can and should be addressed and substantially reduced. The people he introduces us to in these pages are not merely victims, but often advocates, paving the way for eliminating the epidemic of violence in our country.
Ageism Unmasked by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Ageism Unmasked enables us to see that we tolerate, and sometimes actively promote, attitudes and behaviours toward differently aged people that we would reject and condemn if applied to any other group. It peels back the layers to expose how cultural norms and unconscious prejudices have seeped into our lives and shaped our treatment of others based on their age. Offering an all-inclusive approach, Dr. Tracey Gendron reveals the biases behind our false understanding of aging, sharing powerful opportunities for personal growth along with strategies to help create an anti-ageist society.
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers concrete guidelines and evidence-based best practices for addressing racial inequities and biases in clinical care. Perhaps there is no subject more challenging than the intricacies of race and racism in American culture. More and more, it has become clear that simply teaching facts about cultural differences between racial and ethnic groups is not adequate to achieve cultural competence in clinical care. One must also consider less "visible" constructs--including implicit bias, stereotypes, white privilege, intersectionality, and microaggressions--as potent drivers of behaviors and attitudes. In this edited volume, three leading experts in race, mental health, and contextual behavior science explore the urgent problem of racial inequities and biases, which often prevent people of color from seeking mental health services--leading to poor outcomes if and when they do receive treatment. In this much-needed resource, you'll find evidence-based recommendations for addressing problems at multiple levels, and best practices for compassionately and effectively helping clients across a range of cultural groups and settings. As more and more people gain access to services that have historically been unavailable to them, guidelines for cultural competence in clinical care are needed. Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers a comprehensive road map to help you address racial health disparities and improve treatment outcomes in your practice.
How to Be an Antiracist by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a "groundbreaking" (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society--and in ourselves. "The most courageous book to date on the problem of race in the Western mind."--The New York Times (Editors' Choice) ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR--The New York Times Book Review, Time, NPR, The Washington Post, Shelf Awareness, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism--and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. At its core, racism is a powerful system that creates false hierarchies of human value; its warped logic extends beyond race, from the way we regard people of different ethnicities or skin colors to the way we treat people of different sexes, gender identities, and body types. Racism intersects with class and culture and geography and even changes the way we see and value ourselves. In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilities--that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their poisonous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves. Kendi weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism. This is an essential work for anyone who wants to go beyond the awareness of racism to the next step: contributing to the formation of a just and equitable society.
Inclusify by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Wall Street Journal Bestseller In this groundbreaking guide, a management expert outlines the transformative leadership skill of tomorrow--one that can make it possible to build truly diverse and inclusive teams which value employees' need to belong while being themselves. Humans have two basic desires: to stand out and to fit in. Companies respond by creating groups that tend to the extreme--where everyone fits in and no one stands out, or where everyone stands out and no one fits in. How do we find that happy medium where workers can demonstrate their individuality while also feeling they belong The answer, according to Stefanie Johnson, is to Inclusify. In this essential handbook, she explains what it means to Inclusify and how it can be used to strengthen any business. Inclusifying--unlike "diversifying" or "including"-- implies a continuous, sustained effort towards helping diverse teams feel engaged, empowered, accepted, and valued. It's no use having diversity if everyone feels like an outsider, she contends. In her research, Johnson found common problems leaders exhibit which frustrate their attempts to create diverse and cohesive teams. Leaders that underestimated the importance of group coherence and dynamics often have employees who do not feel like they belong; leaders that ignore the benefits of listening to different perspectives leave some people feeling like they cannot be their authentic selves. By contrast, leaders who Inclusify can forge strong relationships with their teams, inspire greater productivity from all of their workers, and create a more positive environment for everyone. Having a true range of different voices is good for the bottom line--it allows for the development of the best, most innovative, and creative solutions that are essential to success. Inclusify reveals the unexpected ways that well-intentioned leaders undermine their teams, explains how to recognize the myths and misperceptions that drive these behaviors, and provides practical strategies to become an Inclusifyer. By learning why uniqueness and belonging are so imperative, leaders can better understand what makes their employees tick and find ways to encourage them to be themselves while ensuring they feel like they are fully part of the group. The result is a fully engaged team filled with diverse perspectives--the key to creating innovative and imaginative ideas that drive value.
Legacy by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Growing up in Brooklyn, New York, it never occurred to Uche Blackstock and her twin sister, Oni, that they would be anything but physicians. In the 1980s, their mother headed an organisation of Black women physicians, and for years the girls watched these fiercely intelligent women in white coats tend to their patients and neighbours, host community health fairs, cure ills, and save lives. What Dr. Uche Blackstock did not understand as a child - or learn about at Harvard Medical School, where she and her sister had followed in their mother's footsteps, making them the first Black mother-daughter legacies from the school - were the profound and long-standing systemic inequities that mean just 2 percent of all U.S. physicians today are Black women; the racist practices and policies that ensure Black Americans have far worse health outcomes than any other group in the country; and the flawed system that endangers the well-being of communities like theirs. As an ER physician, and later as a professor in academic medicine, Dr. Blackstock became profoundly aware of the systemic barriers that Black patients and physicians continue to face. Legacy is a journey through the critical intersection of racism and healthcare. At once a searing indictment of our healthcare system, a generational family memoir, and a call to action, Legacy is Dr. Blackstock's odyssey from child to medical student to practicing physician - to finally seizing her own power as a health equity advocate against the backdrop of the pandemic and the Black Lives Matter movement.
Re-Visioning Family Therapy by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
A leading text for courses that go beyond the basics of family systems theory, intervention techniques, and diversity, this influential work has now been significantly revised with 65% new material. The volume explores how family relationships--and therapy itself--are profoundly shaped by race, social class, gender, religion, sexual orientation, and other intersecting dimensions of marginalization and privilege. Chapters from leading experts guide the practitioner to challenge assumptions about family health and pathology, understand the psychosocial impact of oppression, and tap into clients' cultural resources for healing. Practical clinical strategies are interwoven with theoretical insights, case examples, training ideas, and therapists' reflections on their own cultural and family legacies. New to This Edition *Existing chapters have been thoroughly updated and 21 chapters added, expanding the perspectives in the book. *Reflects over a decade of theoretical and clinical advances and the growing diversity of the United States. *New sections on re-visioning clinical research, trauma and psychological homelessness, and larger systems.
Chronic Care Nursing by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Chronic conditions have a substantial impact on life and health care. Health systems need to adapt to address these shifting health priorities, while nurses require specialised skills to implement changes and create better client outcomes. Chronic Care Nursing: A Framework for Practice provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the role of the nurse in managing chronic conditions across a variety of settings in Australia and New Zealand. The first part of the book outlines two essential approaches to chronic care management - the Chronic Care Model and the World Health Organization's Innovative Care for Chronic Conditions Framework - while the second part covers key conditions within chronic care nursing. The second edition has been fully updated to include the latest research, and features new chapters covering self-management and empowerment; living with mental health issues; chronic bowel conditions; and eye, ear and dental health.
Integrative Medicine by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and complementary medicine, Integrative Medicine, 5th Edition, uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach to safely and effectively incorporate alternative therapies into primary care practice. Drawing on available scientific evidence and the authors' first-hand experiences, it covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and other integrative medicine modalities. This highly regarded reference offers practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Templated chapters make it quick and easy to find key information such as dosing, pearls, the Prevention Prescription, and Therapeutic Reviews that incorporates the Evidence vs Harm Icon. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Thoroughly updated, ensuring that you remain well informed regarding the latest evidence. Contains 10 new chapters covering clinician resilience, supporting immunity, NASH/fatty liver, hair loss, rethinking the movement prescription, compassion practices, prescribing low-dose naltrexone, psychedelics, tapering off PPIs and opioids, as well as an expanded osteopathy chapter. Covers timely topics aimed at reducing the epidemics of polypharmacy and opioid overuse, as well as supporting immunity in the face of infectious diseases. Provides online access to multiple-choice questions for every chapter-perfect for board exam review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Invisible Kingdom by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
Drawing on her own medical experience as well as fifteen years of interviews with doctors, patients, researchers, and public health experts, O'Rourke's incisive new work speaks to an urgent subject: the epidemic scale of autoimmune disease in America (even greater with the advent of 'Long Covid') and where we go from here. O'Rourke reveals crucial, subtle complexities about the American struggle with chronic illness and autoimmune conditions, and offers new reasons for hope, as well as a new framework for thinking about infectious disease and autoimmune response going forward.
Living with Chronic Disease: Measuring Important Patient-Reported Outcomes by
Print book. Click the book title to view it in the catalog.
This book serves as a roadmap for the development and application of patient-reported outcome (PRO) measures, supporting beginners through to experts, as a practical guide. To elucidate on key concepts in the book, examples from clinical research in hyperhidrosis and health-related quality of life and medicines clinical development context, are used. Health-related quality of life represents one of the most commonly measured PROs in both routine clinical practice and research. The book demonstrates the importance of PROs to patients with chronic disease and how such outcomes can assist clinicians in managing patients and monitoring their response to treatment in terms of both symptoms and impacts. This book will benefit readers as a single-source practical guide on the development of modern PRO measures and may also serve as a blueprint for the conceptualization and planning of evidence generation related to PROs in various settings. Ideas and suggestions on how to navigate recent developments shaping the field of PRO measurement are also offered.
|
ABOUT THE LIBRARY Location, Contact Us: Library Hours & Access: |
||
|
Located at: Akron Campus, South Pavilion, Ground Floor, Suite G-3 |
General (Staffed) Hours: 8:00 - 4:30, M-F |
|
|
Mailing Address: 55 Arch Street, Suite G-3, |
Badge Access: Your Summa badge is required to enter via the badge reader. Tap your badge to enter. If your badge doesn't work, ring the doorbell and a staff member will let you in. You must have your badge with you and be able to show it to the librarians, even if off-the-clock. |
|
|
Main Phone, Email, Fax: Phone: 330-375-3260 |
Who Can Use Summa Library: All Summa employees have access during staffed hours. The library is not open to the public.
After Hours: All physicians, residents, and fellows have after-hours access via badge proximity reader. Other types of staff may contact the library to request after-hours access
|
|
