LibGuides: Summa Medical Library: Homepage: Summa Medical Library

Summa Health Medical Library -- Home

Announcements from Summa Library

The Summa Medical Library is pleased to announce two new database/eBooks products. Jump to the eBooks section (click here) under Quick Links below to view the Access databases
- AccessCardiology is a curated set of cardiology texts in an online platform. There are additional quick reference tools, cases, board preparation materials, and multi-media integrated with the textbooks.
- AccessAPN is designed to better equip advanced practice nurses and future AP nurses. It includes 46 titles on topics such as EBP, leadership, informatics, pharmacotherapy, cultural competency, and much more. Other parts of this platform include, cases, multimedia, review questions, certification exam preparation review, and special resources for instructors! (Feb 2024)
We welcome your feedback. Click here and send us your thoughts or send and email to amedlib@summahealth.org (posted Feb, 2024)

Quick Links

Browzine (Electronic Journals)
Clinical Key Full Text Journals - Alpha Listing
Full Text Finder, was A-Z list of all journals and ebooks
Medical / healthcare journals. Includes over nursing journals.
Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine Journals (and DSM Online)
Ovid Full Text Journal Collection (Medical & Nursing)
Medical / healthcare journals. Includes over nursing journals.

AccessAPN This link opens in a new window
AccessCardiology This link opens in a new window
AccessCardiology addresses the most current standards of care, research, and clinical trials through references from leading experts in the field of cardiology, including interventional cardiology and electrophysiology. Optimized for viewing on any mobile device, and guided by top academic experts in the field. It is one of the field’s most trusted cardiology resources. Serves the needs of residents and fellows, and features quick reference capabilities for practicing cardiologists, NPs, and PAs.
• Leading cardiology textbooks — Updates ahead of print. Content always current
• Heart Sounds Collection — To help you master cardiac auscultation skills
• Downloadable High-Quality Images — Speed diagnosis and treatment
• Hurst's Imaging Cases
• CME — Receive CME credit and prepare for in-services, certification, and recertification
AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window

Help Sheets for Access eBook Platforms

Other eBook Resources

Clinical Key's eBooks
Browse titles alphabetically.
DSM-5-TR Online (& Psychiatry Journals)
Current edition of DSM: DSM-5-TR, American Journal of Psychiatry, & more.
Ovid eBooks
Washington Manual subspecialty consult titles in: Hem & Onc, Echo, Internal Med, Endocrinology, and Patient Safety & QI | Fast Facts for Family Med Board Review | Troiano's High Risk and Crit Care Obstetrics | Carpenito's Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis, |and...
more...less...
Nursing 2020 Handbook | Lippincott Visual Nursing: A Guide to Diseases, Skills, and Treatments | Critical Care Medicine: the Essentials | Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine,...and other titles
R2 Library
Electronic books
more...less...
Create an account for off campus access - Your account must be created on an on campus computer.
Go to "create user profile" in the upper-right corner of the screen on the R2 page.
Guide to Ebooks
Guide to Electronic Books available through the Summa Medical Library.

NEOLINK
This online catalog includes all the books in the Summa Library. It's a shared catalog administered by NEOMED and includes the collections at the medical school library as well as those of all its teaching hospitals.
OhioLINK
Statewide library consortium website - a vast array of electronic journals, electronic books, research databases, and more.

AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window

Clinical Key
Searchable database containing e-books, full text journal articles, and much more. Primary focused on medicine
ECRI -- Guidelines

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health (Premium edition) This link opens in a new window
PTSDPubs This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical articles by topic. Use this link to see which references have links to full text and which ones are available, but through an online library request form. Requests submitted through the library online sfrom are usually responded to within 1 business day, and the full text of the requested article is sent in approximately 4 business days or less.

TRIP Database (Find Clinical Guidelines, EBM, EBP, COVID-19 Content)
more...less...
Trip searches many sources to find evidence from systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, clinical guidelines, and regulatory guidance. New guideline content is being continually added to Trip and they are implementing a new guideline grading system. Trip also started adding new COVID-19 related content in mid-March 2020. As new COVID-19 sources became available, Trip prioritized adding this content into the database.
UpToDate
UpToDate is provided to Summa users through the Summa IT&S Dept, and NOT by the Medical Library. Support questions regarding the use of UpTodate may be directed to the Summa Help Desk: 234-312-2222. You may also access UpToDate while you are logged into Epic. Currently, this link only works when you are logged into the main hospital network or when using Citrix to connect.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, and even the arts,& humanities.
Web of Science (use this link for access from off-site)
For off-site access, click on this link. For Institution, choose Northeast Ohio Medical University. For branch location, choose Summa Health System - Akron City. Then enter full name and library ID. Call Library at 330-375-3260 if you're having problems.

Topical Guides

The Summa Library's Guide to Cultural Competency has moved, and is now a webpage included in the Health Equity Resources Guide (see link below). Click here to go directly to the Cultural Competency webpage.

Health Equity Information Resources
This Guide has recommended information resources on health equity & disparities, population health, and other related subject matter such as cultural competency, epidemiology, public health, health promotion, & health policy.
Resources for Barberton High School's "Advancement to Nursing" Program

Guidance for Research and Scholarly Activities

2022 Research and Scholarly Activity Handbook from Summa's Research, Sponsored Programs & Innovation Department

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Location, Contact Us: Library Hours & Access:

Located at:

Akron Campus, South Pavilion, Ground Floor, Suite G-3

General (Staffed) Hours:

8:00 - 4:30, M-F

Mailing Address:

55 Arch Street, Suite G-3,
Akron, OH 44304Badge

Badge Access: Your Summa badge is required to enter via the badge reader. Tap your badge to enter. If your badge doesn't work, ring the doorbell and a staff member will let you in. You must have your badge with you and be able to show it to the librarians, even if off-the-clock.

Main Phone, Email, Fax:

Phone: 330-375-3260
Email: amedlib@summahealth.org
Fax: 330-379-5034 (new fax #)
dsta

Who Can Use Summa Library: All Summa employees have access during staffed hours. The library is not open to the public.

After Hours: All physicians, residents, and fellows have after-hours access via badge proximity reader. Other types of staff may contact the library to request after-hours access