LibGuides: Summa Medical Library: Nursing & Allied Health

Nursing & Allied Health -- Online Library

Announcements

Newest Announcements:

The Summa Medical Library is pleased to announce two new database/eBooks products that we are making available. These are both linked below under in the Quick Links box under eBooks. If they prove to be useful in a significant way, we hope to continue offering these products. Jump to the eBooks section (click here) under Quick Links below to view the Access databases
- AccessCardiology is a curated set of cardiology texts in an online platform. There are addition quick reference tools, cases, board preparation materials, and multi-media integrated in with the textbooks. The link is below in the Quick Links box under the eBooks Heading (Feb 2024)
- AccessAPN, is designed to better equip advanced practice nurses and future AP nurses. This is also a selected group of useful textbooks addressing many areas of concern to advanced practice nursing. It includes 46 titles on topics such as EBP, leadership, informatics, pharmacotherapy, cultural competency, and much more. Other parts of this platform include, cases, multimedia, review questions, certification exam preparation review, and special resources for instructors!
We welcome your feedback. Click here and send us your thoughts or send and email to amedlib@summahealth.org (posted Feb, 2024)

EBP Resources

Websites

Fuld Institute Immersion Workshop Resources - password required
Password issued to immersion workshop attendees
Fuld Institute Main Webpage
Login with Immersion Workshop password for full access to tools and resources
Cochrane Library (onsite link)
Cochrane Library: Off site Link (login with Library ID)
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - A- Z Index of Topcs
AHRQ's Evidence-based Practice Center Reports
AHRQ's Effective Healthcare Program
Screening Recommendations: Prevention Task Force Apps (mobile, API, or web version); from the USPSTF

Tutorials

EBP Multimedia Tutorial from UNC Health Science Library & Duke Medical Center

Guidelines

Annals of Internal Medicine - Clinical Guidelines Website
ECRI Guidelines Trust
TRIP Database (Find Clinical Guidelines, EBM, EBP, COVID-19 Content)
more...less...
Trip searches many sources to find evidence from systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, clinical guidelines, and regulatory guidance. New guideline content is being continually added to Trip and they are implementing a new guideline grading system. Trip also started adding new COVID-19 related content in mid-March 2020. As new COVID-19 sources became available, Trip prioritized adding this content into the database.

Consider also that discipline-specific medical and/or nursing societies and professional organizations will sometimes issue guidelines around a particular subject area. Consider looking at an organization's website, if that organization is relevant to your clinical question.

Databases

We have many databases available in a variety of disciplines. Please see the Databases box (click here), (or scroll down the page) for a list of our most popular research databases that you could consider using, depending on the focus of your clinical question. If you need to know about additional databases to which the Library has access, contact the library for assistance.

AJN Series of Articles on EBP (award-winning series of articles on Evidence-Based Practice)

Series Title: Evidence-based Practice Step-by-Step, published from 2009-2011

Article #1) Igniting a Spirit of Inquiry : An Essential Foundation for Evidence-Based Practice
Article #2) The Seven Steps of Evidence-Based Practice
Article #3) Asking the Clinical Question: A Key Step in Evidence-Based Practice
Article # 4) Searching for the Evidence
Article #5) Critical Appraisal of the Evidence, Part I
Article #6) Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part II
Digging deeper—examining the "keeper" studies.
Artilce #7) Critical Appraisal of the Evidence, Part III
The process of synthesis: seeing similarities and differences across the body of evidence
Artilce #8) Following the Evidence: Planning for Sustainable Change
The EBP team makes plans to implement an RRT in their hospital
Artilce #9) Implementing an Evidence-Based Practice Change
Beginning the transformation from an idea to reality
Artilce #10) Rolling Out the Rapid Response Team
The pilot phase begins.
Artilce #11) Evaluating and Disseminating the Impact of an Evidence-Based Intervention: Show and Tell
After the data are gathered and analyzed, it’s time to share what you’ve learned.
Artilce #12) Sustaining Evidence-Based Practice Through Organizational Policies and an Innovative Model
The team adopts the Advancing Research and Clinical Practice Through Close Collaboration model

Find Articles / Research -- in Nursing, Allied Health, & Biomedical Fields

Multidisciplinary Healthcare Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health. Provides access to full-text articles from approximately 550 journals and indexes articles from 850 journals. However, the breadth of coverage of the nursing literature is not as extensive CINAHL.

EmCare
Very large nursing and allied health database covering scholarly literature published since 1995.
Ovid Nursing Database
A segment of the MEDLINE database containing only nursing-related content, using the Ovid search platform. Timespan covered is 1946-present
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Database covering the literature of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Also includes more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
MEDLINE with Full Text

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical articles by topic. Use this link to see which references have links to full text and which ones are available, but through an online library request form. Requests submitted through the library online sfrom are usually responded to within 1 business day, and the full text of the requested article is sent in approximately 4 business days or less.

OT/PT Databases

PEDro-physiotherapy Evidence Database
Database containg references to physiotherapy literature. Includes randomized trials, systemic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines. For help in obtaining the full text of a document, see the medical librarian.
more...less...
Also available from off site. No authentication required.
OTSeeker
Database of abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized trials, and other OT resources. Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously. Therefore, we recommend that users of OTseeker also search for more recent evidence using other freely available search engines and databases such as PEDro, and PubMed.
SPORTDiscus
Index of the literature of sports, fitness, and related disciplines. Includes some full text. At the next screen, click on the "On Site..." link to be taken into the database.
NARIC - National Rehabilitation Information Center
Find information on research publications, projects, and other resources related to rehabilitation and disability.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association's database of abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations. Indexes around 2500 periodicals.

Medicine Database

Clinical Key
Searchable database containing e-books, full text journal articles, and much more. Primary focused on medicine

Pyschology / Behavioral Health Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, and related subjects. World's largest full text psychology database offering full text for over 530 journals.

Consumer Health

MedLinePlus
Consumer health website produced by National Library of Medicine. Information posted on the site is authoritative and up to date - utilizing sources from entities such as the National Institutes of Health and other trusted organizations. Provides extensive information on over 950 diseases and conditions. Also includes wellness information, a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, drug information, videos of surgical procedures and much more.

Assorted Academic Disciplines (incl Arts & Humanities)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An index containing references & abstracts (some with full text) for scholarly journals in a broad range of academic disciplines.

Top eBook Titles

E-Books - Top Titles

ANA Publications

General Reference

Peri-operative & Peri-anesthesia Nursing

Maternal / Child Nursing

Want to find other eBooks? Search by Title? Use eBook Finder (link below)

eBook Finder tool (aka Full Text Finder) - Search for an eBook by title.

Top Journal Titles

Find Journals - Search by Title

Want to See a Listing of ALL our online nursing journals arranged by specialty?

All Summa Nursing E-Journals

Want to Search by Title? Use Journal Finder (link below)

Journal Finder (aka Full Text Finder) - Search for a Journal by title.

Topical Guides for Nursing & Allied Health Professionals

Topical Guides for Nursing & Allied Health Professionals

Cultural Competency Resources
A collection of websites and eBooks containing cultural information pertinent to the provision of healthcare. Some links are to publicly available resources, others are to content licensed by the Summa Library
Nursing Certification Test Prep Resources
Population Health Information Resources
Recommended information resources on Population Health including ejournals, ebooks, websites and articles.
Trending Topics (including COVID-19!)
Trending Topics guide is still under construction. Some information on Coronavirus is available, but more information will be added. Information about vaping-related lung injury can also be found on a subsequent page

Guidance for Research and Scholarly Activities

2022 Research and Scholarly Activity Handbook from Summa's Research, Sponsored Programs & Innovation Department